To view graphic version of this page, refresh this page (F5)

Skip to page body

The Civil Grand Jury is comprised of 19 members who serve for a period of one year, from July through June 30 the following year, and are selected at random from a pool of 30 prospective grand jurors. During the term, grand jurors serve a minimum of approximately 500 hours. By state law, a person is eligible if he or she is a United States citizen, 18 years of age or older, of ordinary intelligence and good character, and has a working knowledge of the English language.

California state law requires that all 58 counties impanel a Grand Jury to serve during each fiscal year (Penal Code section 905, California Constitution, Article I, Section 23). In San Francisco, the presiding judge of the Superior Court impanels two grand juries. The Indictment Grand Jury has sole and exclusive jurisdiction to return criminal indictments. The Civil Grand Jury scrutinizes the conduct of public business of county government.

The function of the Civil Grand Jury is to investigate the operations of the various officers, departments and agencies of the government of the City and County of San Francisco. Each Civil Grand Jury determines which officers, departments and agencies it will investigate during its term of office. To accomplish this task the grand jury is divided into committees which are assigned to the respective departments or areas which are being investigated. These committees visit government facilities, meet with public officials and develop recommendations for improving City and County operations.

It is also appropriate for any private citizen to submit a written complaint to the grand jury for investigation. Investigations are at the discretion of the jury. The Civil Grand Jury cannot investigate disputes between private parties, criminal activity or activities outside their jurisdiction.

2022-2023 Civil Grand Jury Roster
  • Karen Kennard, Foreperson
  • Pierre Andrada
  • Richard E. Bogan
  • Robert J. ("Rob") Chansler
  • Jonathan E. Cowperthwait
  • Stan Feinsod
  • Lorna Hill
  • Laurance Lee
  • Peter J. Logan
  • Marvin D. Norman
  • Byron Norris
  • Rick Ohlrich
  • Mijung Park
  • Matthew Rhoa, MD
  • Barbara Savitz
  • Pauline Soffa
  • Marc Uscilka
  • Elwyn Wong
  • Marina Yu